CAG NEWS PAGE

Reflections on the third annual CAG Scholars' Program

Jamie Gregor MD FRCPC Co-chair, CAG Scholars' Program



En français voir page 456

The Canadian Association of Gastroenterology (CAG) Scholars' Program is designed primarily for first and second year Internal Medicine residents who are in the process of choosing their future career, whether it is cardiology, gastroenterology or another subspecialty of internal medicine. The CAG is most appreciative of the ongoing sponsorship of this program in 2001, 2002 and 2003 provided by ALTANA Pharma Inc and Solvay Pharma Inc.

Participation in the CAG Scholars' Program is highly competitive. Of approximately 160 eligible candidates, from British Columbia to Newfoundland, the program is limited to a maximum of 32 candidates, with one to three from each medical school across Canada. In 2003, 32 medical students and residents attended the program, bringing the total number of Scholars Program graduates to approximately 100 since the first program in 2001.

Successful applicants are invited to attend the course, which is held prior to the Canadian Digestive Diseases

Week conference. The Scholars participate in a two-day intensive program involving presentations on research opportunities in gastrointestinal medicine, case studies, virtual endoscopy training and much more, all with the opportunity to work and learn with an internationally recognized academic and clinical faculty who are respected leaders and role models in the field. Our objective is to share the rewards and challenges of gastroenterology, nutrition and hepatology with the best and brightest medical students and internal medicine residents from across Canada. "By introducing gastroenterology, nutrition and hepatology at an early stage to a few of Canada's top candidates, we are hoping to attract potential future leaders in gastroenterology," said Dr Joe Romagnuolo MD FRCPC, the CAG Scholars' Program co-chair. Plans are underway to assess the success of the Program by monitoring career paths and choices of former Scholars.



Participants in the 2003 Scholars' Program by university: Kerri Novak, Henry Chung (University of British Columbia), Constantine (Dean) Karvellas, Farzana Sayani, Ryan Endersby (University of Alberta), Shannon Jackson, Penina Krongold (University of Calgary), Robert Billington (University of Saskatchewan), Carrie Wilhelm-Boyles, Mahmoud Sharaf (University of Manitoba), Brian Yan, Lisa Buckley (University of Western Ontario), Elaine Yeung (University of Toronto), Jamie Neuman, Shirley Paski (McMaster University), Ralph Lee (Queen's University), Mandip Jetty, Hasan Zaidi, Andrea Faris (University of Ottawa), Antoine Delage (Université de Montreal), Ramsey Sabbagh, Sumita Rawal (McGill University), Ariane Gauthier, Alexandre Généreux (Université Laval), Philippe Généreux, Charles Ménard (Université de Sherbrooke), Crystal Todd (Dalhousie University), Jennifer Williams, Jennifer Leonard (Memorial University of Newfoundland), Dr Jamie Gregor, Co-chair, CAG Scholars' Program (University of Western Ontario), Dr Joe Romagnuolo Co-Chair, CAG Scholars Program (University of Calgary)

PRESTIGIOUS AWARD WINNERS: Dr Philip Sherman, President of the CAG, would like to recognize the achievements of Dr Fred Weinstein and Dr Norm Marcon in being awarded the prestigious ASGE Rudolf Schindler Award and ASGE Distinguished Educator Award, respectively.

The CAG is proud to acknowledge its Benefactor Corporate Sponsors:
Abbott Laboratories Ltd. AstraZeneca Canada Inc. Axcan Pharma Inc.

Janssen-Ortho Inc.

















Submit your manuscripts at http://www.hindawi.com























